Negotiation Skills

Octonauts: Amazon Adventure Jai received a new Octonaaaauuuuuts DVD today. 

Whilst he slept on me for two hours this afternoon, Sarah and I enjoyed watching news and programs suitable for OUR age group.

Within moments of waking up, he asked: “I want Octonauts!” Yeah, that is a demand.

“No buddy, Octonauts are NOT for mornings.”

“I would like Octonauts … Pleeeeeeeeeease!” He is clever.

Mummy pipes in “I’d like Shaun the Sheep.” Hmmm, so would I.

“Okay, let’s compromise … two Octonauts episodes and two Shaun the sheep, then back to normal viewing.”

Ten Little Dinosaurs (Ten Little) “I want four Octonauts!” No guessing who said that.

“Buddy, how about {with ONLY three fingers in air} one, two, three episodes?”

Mr oh-so-clever was to quick to respond “I want one two FOUR!!”

And then the negotiations broke down into tears. No, not me, him. Sigh.

OCTONAAAAUUUUUTS!

Leave a Reply

