Closure (Goodbye Rene)

I was sitting quietly with my 3.5yo son mid afternoon today. With Jai in my lap, because he wanted to, we both sat silently staring out the front windows, watching eucalyptus trees in our front yard blow back and forth in the wind. It was quiet indoors, so we could hear the constant movement and rustling over the trees.

Finally I sighed and said…

Raising Children Who Think for ThemselvesDaddy: “We are never going to see Rene again.”
Jai: “Yeah, he died.”
Daddy: “Mummy told you?”
Jai: “Yeah, but I didn’t know him. He died before I could. {Big sigh} Now he is in the trees.”
Daddy. “Who is in the trees?”
Jai: “Rene. He is putting honey in the trees for the bees.”

Kids have amazing minds, so I kid you not, he said these words. These words had me lean forward and cry into his shoulder. He sat there silently and let me. My strong boy, he made his Daddy cry. Shortly after I stopped, he turned around and gave me a big hug. My strong boy.

Who is Rene? Those that knew him know him as an amazing friend, hard worker, a brother, a father, and honored among many on Kangaroo Island.

RIP Rene, wherever you are now.

Leave a Reply

