The Trouble with Games

The funnestestest game of all.


“Daddy, can I have that game? I will give you a cuddle if you do!”

‘That game’ was moved to the highest point of my bookshelf a few days ago after an unfortunate mistake by him resulted in an little boy getting very angry with his parents for not playing his way.

“What answer did I give you the last twenty billion times you asked?” 

Long pause.

“Daddy, can I have that game?”

Sigh. This is getting ridiculous. Yes, I really should put it out right out of sight and out of his mind. He is starting to drive me out of my mind! 

“What do you think my answer will be?” (#facepalm. That was a dumb question.)

“YES!”

“You are about to be very disappointed.”

“Dis…dissa…poin…ted?”

“Very sad.”

“Awwww!”

(30 seconds later)

“Daddy, can I have that game?”

“Nope.” 

By this time, I am typing this post whilst responding to him. Lots of copy, paste, paste, paste, ad infinitum…

“Daddy, can I have that game?”

“Nope.” 

“Daddy, can I have that game?”

“Nope.” 

“Daddy, can I have that game?”

“Nope.” 

“Daddy, can I have that game?”

“Nope.” 

I, seriously, could go on. Wait, he’s changed the question. 

“Daddy, could you lift me about this high?” Raises hand, I perceive he has it in line with his eyes and top of shelf. Sigh. Going to draw his bluff, yet fool him. 

I wil let you know how ‘this game’ turns out. Cute kid is now cuddling me from behind. Still not getting the game. At least not right now.


Parents will testify. What would you have done?

Leave a Reply

