Blue Wren vs Fly

Ten Blue Wrens: And What a Lot of Wattle! Sitting on the deck with Jai (5.5 years young) in my lap, I wondered if I was going to snap a decent photograph of the blue-wrens about 3 metres away.

“Daddy, can you photograph that fly?”

I turn to photograph it, but as I do – the small blue wren flutters onto the deck, snaps at the same fly, it falls from its roost, and the bird snapped it right out of the air, swallowing it whole.

I couldn’t photograph that moment, it all happened so fast. But I did snap a few shots of the blue wren standing content after a quick feed.

Jai was still in my lap. As I am capturing the posing blue-wren, Jai starts blubbering….

“Oh dear, I am never going to see that fly ever ever ever again! {crying and wailing} I want that fly! Why didn’t you photograph it sooner?!” He is surprisingly articulate.

I shake my head and say “But dude, buddy, I got some great photos of the blue wren!”

“I don’t care about the blue wren! I want a photo of a fly!”

“Dude, There are ten trillion trillion trillion fly’s on the planet. Blue wrens are rare!”

The conversation ended as he went off crying. The blue-wren flew over and sat beside me and cocked his head to one side as if to say “Yeah, kids, they are not easy!”

Check out my shots below:

Blue Wren on Deck

Blue Wren Hunting Lunch

Blue Wren Sits Close

Save

Leave a Reply

